1979 Triumph with V...

Notifications
Clear all

1979 Triumph with Velorex 563 - A Newbie Here

20 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)

Hello. I'm Carl in Houston, TX and I have just put together my first sidecar rig. It's a Bonneville Special with a new Velorex on it. I'm on a steep learning curve, but all is going well so far. Hooking up the hack was a real challenge because I have to be able to use the kick starter. A sub-frame is probably the best solution one day, but I have it solidly mounted with 5 mounts. I have about 30% lead on it, but that is all the farther I can move it back and still make it work with the kicker. Any and all constructive criticism is welcome. Seems to drive well at speed on the freeway. I'll try to post some photos here. I'm looking forward to participating in the website and getting to some rallies.

Posted : December 15, 2011 5:24 pm
(@Hack__n)

30% lead will guarantee excessive tire wear and hard turning, but good high speed stability.
Make sure the struts have at least 1 1/2" of threaded bolt in the tubular section for safety's sake (the front upper looks questionable).
The moveable lower strut works better if the clamp and eyebolt are placed as the attached pic shows. Less chance of slippage and movement.

Lonnie

Attached files

Posted : December 15, 2011 6:42 pm
(@swampfox)

Hi Carl: Welcome to the offset world of sidecars. I admire your spunk for mounting your first sidecar. Cool We invite you to come show off your new rig at the East Texas Sidecar Muster scheduled for May 4-6, 2012 at the Brookeland/Sam Rayburn KOA. More details here: http://www.sidecar.com/mbbs22/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=9884&posts=3&start=1

Also: Marcus at the Pineywoods Motorcycle Academy up in Lufkin instructs the S/TEP sidecar training program. His email is: marcuscycleshop-at-aol.com Jena & I both recommend it; there are some techniques you just can't quite teach yourself, or make yourself do.

Lee
MB5+TW200+CRF250L+GTV300+INT650