Notifications
Clear all

Triumph T 100 Mated to a Watsonian Sidecar

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@walter-eschmann)
Topic starter

Hi folks, looking for opinions on a 2022 (but still new at dealer) T 100 Bonneville being mated to a Watsonian sidecar.   Dealer ordered the sidecar for a customer but the customer backed out due to covid complications.   Sidecar is not yet finished mating to bike but in the process otherwise I'd pro a vly step it up to the T200 (900 cc for the T100 vs 1200cc T200 configuration).  Currently riding a 750, 2020 Ural GU which is great on backroads and farm dirt roads but not so great on the highway as I try to stay around the 60 mph speed range.   Horsepower wise it's a 21 Horsepower jump and total weight would be approximately 700ish lbs vs. the Urals 800 lb weight.   Wondering if anyone out there has done this combination and if highway speeds of 65 to 70 to stay out of the way of faster traffic is doable.   I've been piloting now for 3 years so fairly comfortable on a side car u n it at higher speeds as my Ural is rock steady at 60 mph.   Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.   I was all set to purchase a t200 and figure out how to get to Texas cor a side car marriage when this possibility presented itself.   Thanks

Posted : March 3, 2024 2:34 am
(@miles-ladue)

Walter, from what I have read regarding other owners and their T100/900cc Triumph sidecar rigs, that bike/engine has adequate power to get you down the highway at highway speeds, and is not lacking for power at all. Sure the T120/1200cc engine would be better....but if the chance is there to get one already put together (will be soon), then jump at it.

My only question for you is....WHO is putting this rig together?  What dealership, shop, person...meaning do they actually have experience, and know what the heck they are doing, or is this an unusual thing for their shop???

Two Million Mile Rider...All 7 Continents
Exploring the World in Comfort

Posted : March 3, 2024 4:58 am