Clear all

Toe in question

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@lloyd-jacobsen)
Topic starter

Hi,

I'm new to this world and it looks like it's going to be fun! My rig is comprised of an old Spirit of America saddled up to a Kawa 454LTD. I ended up with about 33% lead due to the available mounting hardware which is more than usual but still doable. Trying to dial it in but I'm thinking I should have a bit less than the 1" toe in that seems to be the starting point for a lot of folks with the conventional lead of around 10%. Have a bit of head wobble which I have reduced already by lowering the triple trees down a bit on the forks (which I think would reduce the trail a bit) and set up a little lean out. It's definitely getting better,  Next move is to play with toe in. Adjustment on this are a PITA to make so I figured I would reach out. Am I on the right track here?

Thanks

Posted : September 17, 2020 8:12 am
(@Anonymous)

Hi:

I will throw my 2 cents worth in here. What you have done so far is good (the 33% on the lead may be a little generous as you indicated.) Less than 1 inch in the toe in is a good place to start.  Your combination bike and sidecar is pretty right on - light sidecar - small bike. The real proof is  - can you make the rig go straight down the road with minimal pressure on the handlebars.  It is pretty much - "make an adjustment and ride it".  If it is good - leave it alone.  If not make another adjustment.  There is much material on our forum on mounting and adjusting under the technical section.  Go there and pick those brains.

Will Short

USCA Ex-president

Posted : September 17, 2020 9:20 am
(@jaydmc)

You really need to reduce your wheel lead. This will steer hard, wear tires quickly and be very hard at best to deal with a head shake.