Notifications
Clear all

Dire need of guidance

17 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@joe-david)
Topic starter

Hello to all,   I'm new to the world of side cars but after an exhaustive search for the past month I have brought home what I hope will end up a good match for my 2003 HD XLH Sportster.  The process of mounting to the bike has been straightforward so far. the Cozy sidecar was previously mounted to a Triumph Thruxton.  Two of the universal clamps (uppers) are secured to the frame as expected.  
The forward lower connection can only be made buy putting the clamp in a bend of the frame which went on nicely without any prying and tightened without tweaking. In order to make the bottom rear I would need to connect it to the swing arm at the location of the passenger foot peg. Is this allowed?

I only recently learned of the use of subframes which I’m not having any luck finding.  Any thoughts or guidance are appreciated.

Thanks in advance 

Posted : February 15, 2023 5:01 am
(@peter-pan)

As much I am able to see in such a short moment: Do yourself a favour and stay on the safe side with a better match to your bike. Heavier and sturdier sidecar plus a well made subframe attachment done by a professional installer.

The Cozy uses to fit to a 350-500ccm bike, for which it was originally designed (,if it is the sidecar, I think it is).

A rig and a solo bike have only in common the engine and way to shift. The behaviour is totally different, which requires a complete different set of body reactions and the forces on the assembly are tremendously stronger then a solo bike. Most of us long time solo riders had a troublesome transition to 3 wheels. (I went 3 times straight into the pasture on my first day back in December 1986 and made a 3/4 Salto mortale in the ditch 3 weeks later in Norway)

2 Cents that might avoid a potentially fatal accident. The rest of the amount you already  spent, you might reuse on a smaller bike for the Cozy or write off as "experience". 

Sven