Skip to content
Notifications
Clear all

tires

3 Posts
1 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)

hey youall. i got a wheel on rim axel and brake assembly from trash now i have 16" rims on rear of chopr and on sidecar. anyone know what kind of auto tire will fit on 16" bike rim. i cant go any wide than 4". the tires will be the biggest expense . metal for frame came from scrap yard $10, tub will be made by me, rember im a master woodworker. mounting hardware is tie rods and ends and othe assorted steering linkage donated by local wrecking yard.remember that im operating on a welfare budget. 2 more questions 1 does the sidecar hane to be mounted on right side in USA. 2 what safety equipment must passenger use ei. helmet, seatbelt, im in new york

Posted : December 23, 2003 4:52 pm
(@Anonymous)

This topic came up recently on the sidecar list, and was researched by one of the sidecar pro's on this site, from one of his contacts in the tire industry. Note, what you do with the information, is your own business, and you take total personal responsibility for anything bad happening, ie a tire blowing up off a rim when trying to seat the tire, due to the difference in car rim vs motorcycle tire sizes.

Diameter of rims:

Indicated/Actual Diameter MC/Actual Diameter Car

15"/15.080"/14.968"
16"/15.978"/15.968"
17"/17.080"/17.188"
18"/18.080"/18.188"

Lower than 17 inch the car rim sizes are 0.032" smaller than the nominal size,
Thus, a 15" rim has a rim size of 14.968"
and a 16" rim has a rim size of 15.968"

But bigger than 17" the rim sizes are 0.188" bigger than nominal size
a 17" rim size has a rim size of 17.188"
and a 18" rim size has a rim size of 18.188"