Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Looking for advice to put a hack on a 2001 Bonneville

I'm brand new to sidecars, but I got a 2001 Bonneville that needs one. I mostly plan on scenic New England back roads, but would like to be safe for the occasional highway stretch.

I first was looking at the Cozy Rocket for looks, price, and because they make a mount specifically for the Bonneville, so it seems it's meant to be. Doing a little more research is leading me to second guess. Is that a good match? What are the drawbacks? Is it a well made product?

Can anyone tell me about Redwolf in Oklahoma?  https://redwolfsidecars.com/shop?olsPage=products

Any other recommendations for a good match or any builders I should steer clear of?

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the slightly off-center world of sidecars Brian!

The general rule of thumb is that you want to pick a car that is a quarter to a third of the weight of the bike.  So if you know the bike's weight, you should be able to calculate the weight range of sidecars that should match well. Beyond that, you'll want to inspect the frame work to make sure it's stout enough to handle the loads.  Thin walled pipe is a bad thing to find.  You want the frame overbuilt if anything.  Less weight in not necessarily a good thing when it comes to sidecars.

Another rule of thumb is that "Universal Sidecar Mounts fit Nothing in the Universe!"  If you find a dealer that says their mounts will fit any bike or any sidecar, walk away.  Look for someone who has bike-specific mounts that mate to car-specific hardware.  Be aware, sidecars are not for the faint of wallet.  Hunting down proper mounts will make that clear!