Notifications
Clear all

69 FLH with 72 LE sidecar

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@bill-magill)
Topic starter

Hi, I am new to sidecar.com.  I live in South Carolina. I just posted in the technical manual section, requesting information on a manual for the “LE“ Sidecar.

Here is my basic info: I have a 69 FLH, stock, that I have had for about 40 years. I finally found a “year appropriate” sidecar. I called Harley and gave them the serial number and they said it is a 1972 LE Sidecar. I have always wanted a Sidecar for this bike and now that I have one I want to do things right.I want to set it up like a late 60s, early 70s Harley police bike with Sidecar, so that means a foot clutch and a tank shifter. I am not trying to make it look like a police bike but rather only have the functionality of the police bike.  Here are my questions:

1. Is it correct to assume that those police bikes were four speeds? I am pretty sure that those old transmissions could be converted so that third gear was taken out and used as reverse instead. So did the police bikes have four forward speeds just like the non-sidecar versions of the bike?

2. I am also going to assume that it would be very difficult to find a stock shifting set- up for what I spoke about in my first question. Is that true? If not, where would I begin to look for the OEM stuff? If that is next to impossible to find, what modern replacement would be the closest thing to what was stock in 1969?

3. Lastly, where could I find the technical guidance to attach the Sidecar to my bike? It has the drum brake with a capped off hydraulic line that looks like it is supposed to tie into the master cylinder for the rear brake. In fact the hydraulic line ends right about where the master cylinder is on my 69, so that is an assumption on my part.

I also would like to try to find the OEM piece that ties the two brake lines together.