Notifications
Clear all

Are you having Fun?

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@lou-card)
Topic starter

I have been riding for 58 years, but have never been on nor in a sidecar rig.  I’m picking one up this weekend and would like to any and all experiences from those of you that have made the jump to a sidecar.  Are they fun?  I’m looking forward to it.

Posted : October 9, 2019 7:07 am
(@jaydmc)

Sidecars are a blast to ride however they do take different skills. They steer "backwards" to how a two wheel bike steers in that you do not counter steer. I recommend if you can take a sidecar class. If you can not take a class then at least read and to the exercises in the book "driving a sidecar outfit" which can be purchased several places including our web site www.dmcsidecars.com

What kind of bike and sidecar are you getting?
Jay G
DMC sidecars

866-638-1793

www.dmcsidecars.com

Posted : October 9, 2019 7:39 am
(@Anonymous)

Hi Lou:

Welcome to the slightly off center group of riders.

Yes - you will find sidecaring fun but be aware that when you let out the clutch on your rig the first time it is not going to act the same as a 2-wheeled motorcycle.  If properly set up it should go straight down the road but when you slow down the rig will steer itself to the left and when you speed up the sidecar is going to steer to the right.  You will get used to it in short order.  It may take a little longer to get used to answering questions every time you stop for gas.  That is part of the fun.  I seldom had to answer questions when I was riding on 2 wheels. Keep us posted on your experiences as a new 'pilot".

Will Short

Ex-President USCA

Posted : October 9, 2019 7:43 am
(@don)