0 Likes
(@cruzerdog)
Topic starter

I just had a side car installed on to and it wobbles bad

tried the air pressure and head tightening  no luck

bring on your opinions  and suggestions

Posted : July 7, 2019 1:32 pm
(@swampfox)

Sorry, I have no particular experience or suggestions re: steering dampers.  However, on a couple of our rigs (Sportster & Burgman tugs) the wobble was essentially eliminated when we installed triple trees modified for sidecar/trike duty (often referred to a "raked" trees).   I haven't searched, but if such is available, it's well worth the expenditure.

Lee
MB5+TW200+CRF250L+GTV300+INT650
XL883R w/Texas Ranger Sidecar
Zuma 50F + Burgman w/Texas Sidecar<Mrs. SwampFox

Posted : July 8, 2019 1:49 am
(@don)

Some sidecar installers as a matter of course install a damper (small shock absorber) in case wobble should occur.  A friend who recently purchased a used GL1800/Motorvation Formula II LTD combo said the previous owner had removed the damper because he thought it made the rig steer harder and had never experienced wobble.  It does have a 3 degree raked triple-tree.

Because wobble may not occur at lower speeds a person should be cautious when removing a damper.  I haven't experienced a "tank slapper" wobble since on my 1965 Dream 305 while trying to pass an 18-wheeler on I-35, and I never want to experience another.

Posted : July 9, 2019 10:21 am
(@al-olme2)

On most sidecar applications we use steering dampers that run from the forks to a fixed point on the sidecar frame or sidecar mounting hardware,  These are often VW dampers or ones that are built by sidecar manufacturers like EML.  There is an entire other class of dampers that are commonly used on sport bikes.  They are smaller and mount solely on the motorcycle.  Some of these are friction dampers [usually on older bikes like the BMW R69s] or nitrogen filled dampers.  Look on Amazon and search for "steering damper moto guzzi 1400"  you'll see a bunch.  Good luck.