Notifications
Clear all

Velorex 565

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@richard-hamit)
Topic starter

I'm new to sidecars and new to this site.  I have a question about my recently purchased sidecar set up, it's a 2005 Yamaha Road Star with a Velorex 565 sidecar.  I know from reading the forums on this site that y'all will be anxious to tell me my bike is too big for the Velorex sidecar and I get it.  My question is why is there so little information/discussion on the 565 model sidecar?  Is it an unpopular model, discontinued, dangerous or ??  Thanks!

Posted : February 1, 2023 10:30 am
(@aceinsav)
wpf_Moderator

Welcome aboard Richard

I can't speak about the sidecar itself but I know there are a few here that have good knowledge about them and will chime in to help answer your question. I think the 565 has a dry weight of around 175 and if your Yammy is the 1300 your not to terribly off on the combo. post a picture and share it with us. I would say being new to sidecars maybe you should add some weight maybe behind the seat, maybe about 45 to 50 lbs untill you get a good feel for how it is going to respond, especially on those right turns 

Posted : February 1, 2023 10:44 am
(@richard-hamit)
Topic starter

Good advice, Thanks!

Posted : February 1, 2023 11:09 am
(@miles-ladue)

Richard, welcome aboard the HMS Sidecar....

As suggested above, post pictures....pictures from different angles...many pictures.

This is the perfect scenario where a picture speaks 1000 words.

Two Million Mile Rider...All 7 Continents
Exploring the World in Comfort

Posted : February 1, 2023 6:58 pm
(@smitty901)

I own a Velorex 563 and it has lived up to what was expected. Have a friend with one also.

That said they are a low cost budget sidecar. Suspension leaves a lot to be desired.  Should be inspected for ware and slop often.

Often installed with simple clamps that work but they also should be checked often.