Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Wobble and bounce

OK, Folks. I am new to sidecar business. I purchased a used motorvations Formula 2 car. put it on a 2012 HD Road Glide. Getting totally frustrated. Harley shop has put it ondone a lot of work. Bike has a front end wobble and if you go over 55 it will start bouncing up and down like crazy. First, I kept telling the dealer it was taking me to the ditch. Finally when I had had it, drove in, they looked quick. Well axle was broken. Feeling like they are not listening to me and have made mistakes putting car on wrong. Seems to far out from bike. If I have the lever to almost center it will ride truer down rode. but gods forbid, don't let go of handles and don't go very fast. Any suggestions? Jean :o:-( :o:-(

Jean,

First, contact Motovation. Did you use their mount hardware? They are very helpful folks and may be able to give you some good ideas.

Generally, if you have head shake we start out by telling you to make sure you have your front tire fully [if not over] filled and check the tightness of your steering head bearings. Both these are known to contribute to head shake.

The lever you reference is is there to compensate for crown in the road. If you drive on roads with a lot of crown having the lever half way up isn't really out of line.

Good Luck!

The head shake can be mostly eliminated by snugging up the steering head. What I used to do (K1100 BMW/Motorvation Formula) was to jack the bike up so the front wheel was off the floor and tighten the large nut at the top of the headset until the front fork would fall slowly to one side or the other. Don't go too tight. You will dimple the bearings. This method eliminated my head shake.