Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

windshield wind deflector

Hi, I am a newbie to this forum and sidecars, . Got my sidecar last week from Hannigan, a GTL model for my 03 1800 Gold Wing and to my surprise I get this horrific wind blast on my right side. I should have anticipated that the air would be compressed between the bike and such a large sidecar, jut never thought of it. Now I want to add a windshield mounted air deflector to the right side of my windshield to hopefully cut down on some of this unwanted wind. So far all I have found is a set of windshield wind deflectors from Wingstuff. If anyone knows of a better, or any other option I sure would appreciate hearing about it.
Thanks
Andy

Welcome Andy!! You aren't alone it seems and I used the search feature (upper left and search all threads) to find several others with this problem. Here's is one thread but there are others. The link doesn't look like it all came through but a copy paste will work too.

http://sidecar.com/mbbs22/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=9375&posts=4&highlight=wind deflectors&highlightmode=1#M58560

tHANKS jOYCE
I have contacted Peter Probst by email and hope he still makes those things. I saw something similar on Dave Hannigan's sidecar rig, although the plastic was broken. I believe I can make something like that myself if Peter no longer makes them. Also I have a Tulsa tall windshield which slopes back a lot farther and steeper than an oem Honda windshield. Will post if I have any luck
Andy

I emailed Peter Probst, but have had no response so far, if anyone knows how to contact him, please let me know
Andy

Andy... I've got the same outfit that you do. I found that a set of Baker Built hand wings (the ones that mount to the lower side of the mirrors) do a pretty good job of breaking up the wind coming off of the sidecar.