Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Turning Force required

Hi I’m new to sidecar riding; I’ve just set up my first outfit with the help of people on this forum.

Here is a link to some images of my outfit.

http://www.mrbillington.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/bike.htm

It’s a UK outfit, hence the sidecar is on the left hand side. I made the sidecar with the help of my father. The bike is a Yamaha 900 Diversion ( not sold in the USA ) which weighs about 239 Kg (526 pounds).

I have to apply equal force to the handle bars to turn either left or right. This is the first outfit I have ridden so it feels like quite a bit of effort is required to turn. How can I tell if to much force is necessary to turn or are all outfits just like that?

Thanks for any advice.

When ever you convert from three to two wheels you end up with heavy steering unless you reduce trail on the front of the bike. To reduce trail the front wheel needs to move forward in relationship to the steering head. This can be done many different ways, a few are leading link front ends, leading legs, triple tree's that change the angle of the forks, off set plates, changing to forks where the axle is ahead of the main body of the fork and many others, this has been covered many times on this forum, take some time to look around on the forum, you will find lots of answers.
Jay G
DMC sidecars
http://www.dmcsidecars.com
866-638-1793

Jay G DMC sidecars www.dmcsidecars.com 15616 Carbonado South Prairie RD Buckley WA 98321 866-638-1793 Hours Monday - Thursday 6-4:30

Nice looking outfit. If your near Towcester, Northants, there's a Sidecar Day at Jack's Hill Cafe, Towcester on Sunday 19th April. There will be plenty of people to advises you there, including my self if the old BSA gearbox holds together.

Sid