USCA Sidecar Forum

WE CONTINUE TO BE HIT BY PHISHING ATTACKS. THE SITE HAS NOT BEEN “HACKED”, THEY ARE JUST PICKING UP INFO THAT IS IN THE OPEN. PLEASE BE EXTRA CAREFUL AND DO NOT RESPOND!

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Towing a trailer with sidecar rig.

I have a Valkyrie with a (new to me) Motorvation sidecar attached. I'm new to the sidecar world. When riding on two wheels only, I've often towed a Piggybacker trailer on trips covering several thousand miles with my wife on the back of the bike, and am very comfortable towing a trailer.

QUESTION: Is it safe to tow the trailer hooked up to the same hitch on the motorcycle (once I'm well practiced on handling the sidecar setup without the trailer)? Are there other things I should be aware of when towing a trailer with a sidecar rig?

Many tow this way with no problems except the extra width of the outfit on narrow roads. Towing from the inside rail of the sidecar makes for a much more compact outfit.
Where it really matters is when towing a wide camping trailer.

I've repaired a few rigs that went off the road in the mountain twisties due to excessive width. It was either that or take on an oncoming vehicle.
In no case was there an injury except to the sidecar rig.

Lonnie
Northwest Sidecars

I have been wondering about the same thing. I pull a home made trailer made from a Harbor Freight trailer kit behind my GL1100. I'm getting ready to install a 91 Hitchhiker rig that already has a trailer bar built onto it's inside rail.

Now what I'm wondering about is the extra stress the trailer will put on the sidecar rigging and how much extra side pull it will place on the bike.

I plan on trying it both ways to see which one handles better.