USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Too Much Fun

Well I was about to sell my 74 Guzzi that I seldom rode when a young guy I know from work started making noises about restoring an old motorcycle. Of course, I had to talk him into a Guzzi.

He proceeded to put together one beautiful motorcycle.

This was about 5-6 years ago. Up til then, I was cleaning up the bike in the spring, changing fluids and charging the battery. Then I'd ride to the market a couple of times and maybe a couple of summer evening rides. Total 50-100 miles a year.

So he wants to go somewhere. I started riding again.

For the last three years we have done a couple of 500 mile rides each year and I remembered how much I loved it.

I'm not going to try to make this long story short.

Last year trying to get my bike dialed in for the "Steak & Pastry" run I just couldn't get the carbs right. Now the bike has been setting for eight months and I gave myself a day to get it ready. Not smart but work doesn't allow much more. We had one guy flying in from back east and renting a bike. I called the rental place and rented one myself.
About 500 miles on a nice new Road Glide, a whole weekend without touching a wrench and I had a better idea.

I would buy a "newish" turnkey motorcycle and farm out the mechanical stuff. I'm too old to enjoy that anymore anyway. Right?

A few weeks later I have a '98 EV11 with 3200 miles. Sweet.

Fast forward to the dog. I have an Australian Shepherd pup (she's 3 now) that I have been doing agility with. Someone mentioned that I needed a sidecar. Right!

So I found a great '85 Cal II with a Watsonian Palma. It is 1500 miles away. Oh well, its only money; and it is for my dog. About 5K and three weeks later I have this tank beautiful rig.