Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Toe-in adjustment.

I have been riding a 1999 Ural Bavarian Classic for about 5 years and recently purchased a 1999 Kawasaki Drifter with a Motorvation Spyder sidecar. I purchased the Drifter in Tulsa, then rode it about 300 miles to Kansas City where my extended family lives. I towed the bike to chilly Saint Paul over Christmas, and have not been able to ride it since because of the weather here in Minnesota. On the cruise from Tulsa to K.C. I noticed a substantial pull to the right at speeds in the 70-80 mph range. The bike tracks pretty true at city speeds, but the high speed pull to the right bothers me since I plan to do some extensive touring at highway speeds on this bike. The pull was somewhat negated if I rode in the left lane on the highway where the slope of the road helped neutralize the pull. My Ural does not have this much pull on the highway (granted it will not do 80 unless it is downhill with a 70 mph tailwind). I have never set up the toe-in on a rig and am wondering if I adjust out the pull on the highway will I ruin my in town handling? Does it sound reasonable that I am already at the happy medium and will just have to accept the pull on the highway to preserve the ride at city speeds or is it possible it is simply out of adjustment. Are adjustments to the toe-in difficult on the the Spyder? The sidecar is attached with Motorvation hardware. Thanks for the help.

Attached files

Shoelu, that is a sweet looking rig.
the toe- in has little to do with the pull to the left or right.
adjusting the bike 'lean in/out' will make a big difference.
If your rig is pulling right,loosen the upper strut adjusters and lean the bike out a little more, tighten them, then try it at the speed you will be using most of all.65-70 on a level stretch with no gas applied.