Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Spacing and Conections

I have two more questions , I am new to sidecars

I am wondering how you determine the spacing between the side and sidecar. Do you try to get it as close as possible and still have all the controls work ,thus getting the smallest foot print of the whole rig or do you sometimes want to space the car wider to help to keep the weight as far from the bike as possible but within reason ? I realize this needs to be within reason, you would not want the car 24" away !

Also why do I see that some car are attached with a ball joint style connection at the lower rear and the other three are clevis style. And some use the clevis in all four locations ?

Track width is effected by many different things, narrow is nice however you must be able to work the controls and if you have saddle bags you may need the sidecar mounted a bit wider in order to be able to use them. Some times the mounting hardware effects how narrow you can get things, kick starters effect things, Some times with really light sidecars you might want to go a bit wider then ideal, like pretty much everything on a sidecar rig it is a compromise. You just need to figure out what is best for your needs.

Attachment points. Traditionally the lowers were done with balls on the bike and clamps that go over the balls, This allows the toe to be adjusted and allows for some misalignment. Pretty much every modern sidecar manufacture (except for companies building really old designs) do not use the ball connectors. There are many reasons for this, one they would have to manufacture these parts where as the heim joints that we use we can buy. Also ball socket type mounts are a bit harder to take the sidecar on and off.