USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Sidecar wheel bearings - Advise needed

I picked up my sidecar and rode under eight hours over a three day period (slow and high speeds) when I heard a high-pitched squeal coming from the sidecar wheel.  Riding an interstate about 65mph.  The fender is the only thing that held the wheel on and prevented a serious accident.  I'm not a mechanic or sidecar expert - new to the experience.  So I don't know by looking at the wheel area if something was not put on correctly - I'm going to assume it wasn't since I sat beside the road for two hours in the sun waiting on a tow.

I attached a photo.  Looking online it seems a washer and bolt should have been used along with the cotter pin.  The cotter pin stayed in place but the whole outside bearing disappeared and the wheel came off - held on slightly by the fender.

I'm hesitant to take it to the same sidecar builder because this is not the first life threatening issue I've had with their build.  First time on the initial delivery it arrived with a bent axle and they weren't even going to mention it (while I have photos of it in the shop without the axle bent - but that's a whole other story).  Second time the sidecar crash bar fell off while I was riding it about 50 mph.  Third they forgot to tighten fender bolts - one bolt was lost and the other was dragging on my tire and the tire was only had 8 psi.  These were all issues after I picked it up same day.  I think they are trying to kill me!

Anyway - has anyone seen or heard of something like this happening with the wheel bearings or can you tell by the photo if something else should have been placed over the bearings to keep the wheel in place.  Trying to find a second builder/mechanic to get a second opinion on the status of my sidecar.  I can supply other photos if needed.  Any help appreciated!

Uploaded files: