Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Sidecar bike leanout Why?

Hello all I am new to sidecars and am trying to understand them before I get started on this years winter project. Most of what I have read seems to make sense except I don't understand why you lean the bike out a little? Could someone shed a little light on it for me  .  Thanks John

Hi JohnB,

Leaning the sidecar bike slightly away from the sidecar compensates for the wind drag of the sidecar at speed and the crown of the road (slope to right in USA).   Many larger touring type sidecar have an electric lean adjuster to compensate for the greater wind drag from the larger frontal area.   In my experience, there is no "standard measurement" for lean out - it varies from rig to rig.

Lee / Summer Grove, Louisiana: Ural cT, CJ750, Burgman/Texas Ranger, Zuma 50F, MB5, TW200, CRF250L, GTV300

When rider is not on the bike the learn out is set. Once ride gets on the bike returns to normal or darn close. With out the lean out the bike would tend to lean in if you did not set a lean out. You see numbers 1 to 3 degrees it depends on many things. I have a light weight rig on a 750 and a heavy rig on a RGU.

Lean out has a lot more effect on the light one. I have a friend that is about 250 pounds his lean out needs a little custom adjustment.

On my RGU rig me on or off the bike has no real effect on it. I am a light weight. On the 750 rig it is set just a shade over 1 degree.