Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Reverse Gear?

I'm thinking about putting a reverse on my 1998 FLHTCUI 5 speed. Does anyone have any advise as to what would be a good reverse gear setup? I have been riding for more than 50 years and it's getting very hard to push my rig out of the garage.

I put a Motor Trike reverse on my 2009 Road Glide.  I installed it myself, but it involves drilling into the end of your transmission main shaft to install set screws that hold the gear on.  Not an operation for the faint of heart or if you don't have the skill set and tools.  The kits are also pretty expensive - I think I paid ~$1300 for mine.  I like it though,  I can push my rig around with my feet, but even the slightest incline can be tough.  I tug a Motorvation Formula II Ltd. with my black lab on board, so it's a pretty heavy rig.  I also like that it's mechanical and not electro-mechanical like the reverse on Harley Triglides that use the starter motor.  The website is http://www.motortrike.com/ and you should shop around for the best price - I got mine from Eastern Performance out of Maryland - https://www.easternperformance.com/ (look on their ebay store for possible deals better than their website).

Uploaded files:
  • You need to login to have access to uploads.
https://www.facebook.com/OperationHogNDog/