Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Pulls hard to the right

Hi everyone,
Am new to this sidecar stuff. Just purchased a 2002 RoadKing with a 2007 Sidecar. It pulls hard to the right, and when I asked the dealer he said they all do. I don't agree, but I am new to all of this. I have had Harleys for 20 plus years, and find it hard to believe this is the way a sidecar is driven. The bike leans into the car about 1 degree. The dealer said this is what the manual requires. Every place else I read says about 3/4 inch tow in and 1 to 3 degrees of lean away from the car. Am I missing something here or is Harley wrong?? Any comments would be appreciated.

your dealer is WRONG WRONG WRONG!!
they dont all pull to the right..OK, maybe all the ones HE sets up.
the lean out should be at least straight up or a little out from the SC. Only way to check this is by adjusting it out a little and try it on a road similar to the ones you would normally ride..at speed of around 60-65 with throttle nueteral. there should be NO pull,. left or right.
the Harley manual sets it with lean in because of the solid suspension on the SC.but in real life this dont work.
once you set it up right with no pull, go over to the so called dealer and tell him to ride it. Surprise!!!!

The Manual is written with a specific driver weight in mind. These are initial settings that have to be tweaked to the individual rig loadings and road surfaces encountered in the real world.
I've found almost all Harley rigs work better with leanout regardless of the make of sidecar attached.
"0" leanout loaded, on a level surface equals a rig that will pull to the right on a crowned road. It will be leaning to the right and will take the path of least resistance.
About 1 degree lean-out loaded has worked well for me (US&Canadian roads).

Lonnie
Northwest Sidecars