Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Noob 1st sidecar barn find 71 CL350 and Bingham Mark II

As the title says I'm a noob to sidecars. I have wanted one for a while primarily to take the grand children for short rides. Well I found this 1971 CL350 with an attached Bingham Mark II (I think that's what it is). With some tune up and mechanical work I got it running.

Now let me say I'm not a new motorcycle rider. But I've never ridden a sidecar rig before yesterday. My first bike was a 1962 Matchless 650 that was in 1966. Like most old timers I quit riding when I started a family but got back into riding quit by accident. My oldest son wanted a bike and took me to look at a 78 GS650 which hadn't run in years but it was cheap. Well I was hooked and ended up buying it and learning how to work on metric bikes in the process. That was in about 2005 and all the kids were grown. Well that lead to a GL1200, numerous GL's and Suzuki's, Kawasaki's, Honda's, Harley's. Really everything but Yamaha. No reason, just haven't found a barn find yet. I buy them, fix them up and make them safe to ride and then sell them. Usually to new riders so I am sure the bikes are safe and run perfectly and need nothing or I won't sell it. As near as I can remember this is about the 25th old bike I've bought. I have no intention of selling it until my 3 year granddaughter is old enough to buy her own bike....LOL

Kinda long winded but I wanted to do a little introduction to the forum. I am also very active on several forums and love to contribute to the new riders or new to wrenching on bikes.

I am aware that if there are no pictures, it didn't happen so here are some: (if the forum will let me post pics)

Still on the trailer when I brought it home:

in the shop and evaluating what needs to be done. It was not running when I bought it: