Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Newbie to Sidecar

We are Lowell & Donna, from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. I am a Resident Manger for a 75 unit Apt complex, which we live at, and Donna works for Yellow Book (now HIBU) here in Cedar Rapids. I retired from the Navy (23 yrs) in 1999. We have been married (36 yrs) with 4 kids and 7 grandkids.

Dirt bikes as kid. Had a Suzuki GSE425 about 30 years ago. Bought the kids and me a Kawasaki 125 Enduro about 20 years ago.

Almost four years ago our oldest son Shawn (31) passed away. He left a daughter Anna (9) in Alabama and a son Izan (4mos) here in Iowa. As part of our grieving process Donna and I purchased a 1986 Kawasaki Voyager XII, and began taking day trips and long weekend excursions. As our 3 other kids Brandon, Justin, & Beth are grown and it is fairly easy for both of us to get away from work, it gave us the time to be together and grieve.
We put 10K miles on the first year. The second year we started watching Izan more, as his mom Casey tried to adjust and grieve. We put 6k miles that year.

This past year Casey lost full parental rights of Izan so Donna and I decided to adopt Izan rather than have him go to foster care. We are in our 50's and now find ourselves full time parents of a very energetic almost 4 year old. We are run hard and put to bed wet just about every night. But it is worth it. He has cut into our riding time though. We find it hard to get good sitters on short notice. SOOOOOO, over the winter I sold the Kawasaki and bought a 1986 GL1200 SEI with a Friendship III Sidecar.

It has 68k miles and in great condition. I am the 3rd owner and all records and invoices have been kept.
I picked it up in Rochester, MN and rode her in the rain back to Cedar Rapids. It was wet and cold, but she is home in our garage ready for spring (if it ever decides to come this year.)