Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

new to the sidecar idea.....

Page 1 of 2Next

Hello everyone, I'm a new forum member from Billerica MA (just north of Boston)

lately I've had the sidecar bug. I've been riding on two wheels for many years, also work as an MSF Ridercoach. I know the sidecar changes the dynamics of riding quite a bit, and I'd like to try it!

I have looked at Urals, and am going to look at a triumph bonneville this weekend that has a velorex sidecar on it. I know Urals are made for sidecars, Is the Triumph a good match for the velorex? It sure looks sweet with the car on it ..... does anyone here own a similar vehicle. I look forward to any input you have

thanks
Stan

"...changes the dynamics of riding quite a bit.". Boy, you've got that right!
First of all, to initiate a left turn on a solo bike you would actually turn the bars to the right to upset the balance to put the bike into a left lean, then slight left application of the bars control the left turn.
With a sidecar, there is no lean involved, so it needs to be turned initially in the direction you want to go. This is contrary to what we learn over the years as a solo rider, and some guys just can't overcome the instinct. I have allowed two of my buddies to try my sidecar rigs over the years, but NEVER AGAIN! Both times there was serious damage done when they ran over the curbs and into bushes!
On my first rig (a 1971 Yamaha 650/Motorvation Spyder) I made up an outrigger, castered wheel that rode just 2" off the ground on the left side. This kept me from going over on my side in right-handers that I was going too fast for. Of course, this was all done in large parking lots for practice to get the feel for the rig's handling.