Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

New man on the block

Hi Everyone, I just joined this morning. I'm also new to the sidecar scene. My Wife and I just inherited out Grandson, he's 2 years old. I've got a '94 Harley Ultra and usually put on about 15,000 miles a year. I still work but will retire in 6 years so that should increase. Anyway, now that we have a 2 year old who already displays joy in anything that has wheels, we bought a 1978 Harley sidecar project. I've come to find out that this is an odd ball year for HD sidehacks and I've had to either make things fit or find other alternatives. It didn't come with a wheel, so I spent a lot of time at swap meets, which I've had no luck, so I had a front wheel from my Wife's Custom Bagger and a disk brake off my old Shovelhead and off to the machine shop I went to have an axle made to make all of this work. The connection kit from HD doesn't match, so I've had to do some cutting and welding(I was a fabricator for 20 years) to make that work. All in all, it's been and interesting adventure so far and still have not been able to ride it yet. I should be about 2 weeks out from a test ride and I'm getting excited about this new riding adventure. I hope to learn a lot from you folks here who have been doing this longer and I have. Thanks for letting me put this long post up.

Hi Skin
As you probably know you have a CLE Sidecar (w/ball type mount).
You may want to check out the mounting system for the TLE (w/Hyme type mount).
On your '94 you will find a nut welded to the frame behind the battery box, this is for the rear 3-point mounting bracket for the TLE.

Before you hit the road, seriously consider purchasing and reading from cover to cover: Driving a Sidecar Outfit (The Sidecarist Bible)