Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

New here

Page 1 of 2Next

Hey folks just joined your forum last night so I could start some researching on riding these sidecars. Picked up this 98 HD today with only 4000 miles. I have been riding for 35 years but only 2 wheelers. Plan on taking it SLOW

Attached files

64deville - 3/5/2014 8:39 PM
Hey folks just joined your forum last night so I could start some researching on riding these sidecars. Picked up this 98 HD today with only 4000 miles. I have been riding for 35 years but only 2 wheelers. Plan on taking it SLOW

Hey, that's sure a purdy rig. If I recall correctly, that's the "root beer & foam" anniversary colors. Good plan taking it slow, but I also recommend a S/TEP class. I took the class after 4 months of ownership, which helped me go from "herding" to "driving" the ring. In the meantime, you can get a copy of the "yellow book" (Driving a Sidecar Outfit by David L Hough) and/or Hal Kendall's information available here: http://www.sidecar.com/links3.asp.

Be patient as you re-learn 35 years of riding habits - a sidecar rig is not a motorcycle. It took me a couple thousand miles to become a reasonably competent sidecar pilot.

Hey, tell us where you are - might be some fellow sidecarist in your area.

Lee / Summer Grove, Louisiana: Ural cT, CJ750, Burgman/Texas Ranger, Zuma 50F, MB5, TW200, CRF250L, GTV300

I am in NC but did not see any riding classes anywhere close to me

Nice Rig!!!!