Notifications
Clear all

My turn at Easy Steer

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@labill)
Topic starter

Getting to the age where the body is not what it used to be.

I have a 2000 Yamaha Venture with a Formula II sidecar.  It is now time to make the steering easy.  I am new to the degrees, etc.  Any help and purchase locations would be greatly appreciated.  

labill

Posted : November 6, 2022 6:04 am
(@smitty901)

I have had 6 1/2 on a large rig and now have 4 1/2 on almost the same type large rig. Both work . I prefer the 4 1/2.

There is a difference in rake trees. Make sure you are getting the right one for you.

When you rake it the tubes need to be longer either by replacing them or extension.  No issue with well designed  and made trees and extension.

Many of the tress offer cheap on the net are designed for someone that wants to rage of big front tires not sidecars or trikes.

Cheap ones can end up a bad experience

DMC and Hannigan  are IMO the best place to start.

Posted : November 6, 2022 7:33 am
(@swampfox)

labill, I too suggest contacting Hannigan, who should be familiar with your project, as the web-site shows they have developed a trike kit for the Venture with the option of a Steer Lite Kit 6-degree (take a look here: http://www.hannigantrikes.com/products/yamaha-royal-star-venture-tour-deluxe-conversion/ )

Posted : November 7, 2022 12:31 am
(@aceinsav)

agreed with the above, unless the 2000 is different from the 99 Hannigan is the only company I could find an easy steer for the Yamaha Venture and there are no options but the one they offer is perfect. you will find you have to leave your lower covers off the forks as they won't fit anymore. 

Posted : November 7, 2022 2:59 am
(@smitty901)

Hannigan CNC machines their own . They are a work of art. Stronger and much better suit to sidecar and trikes than others.

OP did not say where he was but they also do the install. Fast a flawless work.

Posted : November 7, 2022 3:17 am
(@michael-ladue)