Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

My Choice And How To Aclimate

I started out on three wheels, back when I was five years of age and younger. That of course was a tricycle. And then I graduated to two wheels, and stayed on two wheels pretty much well into my 40’s.

Then around 1989 or 1990, I don’t remember which, I decided to go to a motorcycle safety course, and get my license. And shortly after I received my license, within the week, I bought my first motorcycle. It was a 1986 500cc Honda Shadow. I rode the crap out of that bike, but only seasonally. After all, up here in New England, we do get pretty significant winters, and if I didn’t have to ride in the winter on the motorcycle I didn’t.

Then for about two years, in the late 1990’s (for some strange reason), I sold the bike and didn’t ride.

After the two-year hiatus, I bought another Honda Shadow; this time a 750cc “American classic.” The next year I bought a Harley Davidson Fat Boy. The next year, I bought a Harley Davidson Road Glide Ultra.

The wife rode with me. We used microphones to communicate, had all the bells and whistles that a touring bike has, such as cruise control, heated grips, radio, CD player, all the gauges, and so forth. But something was missing. I would go to various gatherings of other motorcyclists, and I found myself feeling like I was just “one of the many.” I would look around in the crowd for something unusual and different, something that was more retro, something that had some personality.