USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

WE ARE NOT ASKING FOR GIFT CARDS. IF YOU RECEIVE AN EMAIL TO THAT EFFECT, IT DID NOT COME FROM THE USCA. IT IS A PHISHING SCAM. DO NOT REPLY!

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

more than my half of the road

Hello my first post, I would like to say this is a great place I have been larking hear for a couple of years and have learned a lot. I got my first rig this past spring an 1800 Goldwing with a Hannigan GTL car put together by CSM. I have put 15,000 + miles on it and feel stable and steady on it however when on slower two lane roads about 30% or more of oncoming traffic give me more than my half of the road (some to the point of running off the road) this includes commercial drivers and even state police. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?Surprised

I am thinking that it is not that unusual when people see something "unusual" (literally something that they do not usually see--not that sidecars are unusual like weird) that they wind up moving over more because they are looking at us more (and thus thinking more about leaving room than if they are just blowing past another Camry or F150... just a theory...

Some pull over to the edge of the road but never off the road.

Just another theory here, but because the Wing/GTL is such a large presence on the road the average cager probably thinks you are a motorcycle trying to pass a small car in the same lane, so they move over to give room.

Gummiente - 1/8/2014 8:30 AM
Just another theory here, but because the Wing/GTL is such a large presence on the road the average cager probably thinks you are a motorcycle trying to pass a small car in the same lane, so they move over to give room.