Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

master thesis on sidecar rigs - I need your help

Page 1 of 2Next

Hello everybody,

My name is Andreas and I am a master student at Leipzig University's Translation Department in Germany. I am currently preparing to write my master thesis on English and German sidecar/combination terminology (I blame my father who was the last chief engineer at the MZ sidecar branch). The goal is to create a comprehensive introduction into the topic, including an extensive glossary with definitions and a translational analysis. Basically, I'm focusing on where English and German sidecar cultures and terminologies differ (or do not differ for that matter).

The quality of the thing depends largely on how much source material I can get my hands on. This includes pretty much everything sidecar-related that has been published in some way, including spare parts lists, handbooks, books, patents, specifications, advertisements, law texts, user manuals, magazine articles, race reports and more.

I've already collected quite a lot of German-language material, where I'm lacking are English-language texts to analyze. I've found a number of patents, bought some books and got some exploded view dawings from the local harley-davidson dealer, but I fear that's not a sufficient basis for an academic analysis. I was particularly surprised to find out that there no longer seems to be an english-language magazine about rigs(after a bit of research I found out that hack'd has been discontinued a few years ago). This was a bit of a setback for me, since comparing the German bimonthly "Motorrad-Gespanne" with an english-language equivalent would have been quite useful since magazines of this kind usually offer a good insight into a topic.

So, as you might have realized by now, I need help.