Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Is there such a thing as a starter sidecar rig?

Page 1 of 2Next

Hello all,

I have been thinking about a sidecar rig for years now. Even though I have never ridden one they sure seem like they would be a blast to ride. Is there such a thing as a beginner type setup? I don't want to spend alot until I decide if I like it for sure.

From reading it seems some are easier to ride than others. Weight, less trail, etc...

I have been riding for 20+ years. Lots of sport tourers, touring, dual sports and currently on a GL1800. I'd like to take short trips for now. Take my dog for a ride and even might allow the wife on a trip or two!

Suggestions? Advice?

2012 Patrol

To each his own but I bought a used Ural that I rode for a couple years before adding the Liberty to my Harley. And I'm glad I learned on a 750. I didn't expect to like three wheels but my wife of many years, many bikes and many miles had decided to quit riding with me. I thought perhaps she'd like a sidecar. Her mind was made up but the boxer I had at the time loved it. And I was surprised to find out what a thrill the Ural was. So after a few years of riding the Ural more than the Harley, I knew there was no going back. Sold the Ural, my Kwik Kamp trailer and an old tractor and ordered the Liberty. The adventure continues.... One more thought.... If you can find a class nearby, it would be well worth your time and effort. Good luck and enjoy!!

Get a trial ride if possible, perhaps at a Rally or from an individual.
The best starter rig would be an affordable, ready to drive, used one. Don't spend a bunch on a rig with all the bucket list items you "think" you will need. Many have done this and some have found that sidecaring wasn't their bag after all.