Interactive 3D Sidecar Simulation

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@christoph-koulen)
Topic starter

Ladies, Gentlemen,

this is my 1st post and I would like to briefly introduce myself:

I'm 60+ years old, mechanical engineer by profession/education, German by birth and Swiss by choice. Been living in Switzerland for almost seven years now.

Long-time (40+ years and 200k+ miles of experience) biker on two wheels, currently and last 5 years on a Ducati Monster 1200S. Additionally I have joined the ranks of sidecar enthousiasts two years ago, on one of the twenty only (worldwide) copies of the Ural cT "Transsib" special edition of 2018. I'm also the author of the non-profit blog "vielzutun.ch", where I write about various bike and sidecar-related topics, along with my wife, who covers knitting and crocheting. Our blog is written in German.

That said:

I have only recently found this site, and have superficially sifted through the "Technical" section. I see interest in weight distribution issues, chassis dimension issues, fear of tipping over issues and general "how to ride a sidecar bike" questions.

This is where I believe I can contribute and drag some of the answers out of the (IMO) rather shady "experience" and "trial and error" realm. I have developped an "Interactive 3D Sidecar Simulator", which computes(!) and visualizes in interactive 3D-Computer graphics the tipping limits of generic motorcycles with a sidecar. And sorry, folks, this covers only genuine sidecar bikes, with a sidecar truely to the side of a motorcycle, but no generic trikes. Neither two-wheel front, one-wheel rear variety, nor the one-wheel front, two-wheel rear variety.