USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Harley Gearing

I have no experience with big twins, but I did lower the gearing by 4% on my 883R by going down 1 tooth with an aftermarket front pulley. That small 4% change made a big difference in ride-ability, especially in 1st & 5th gears. My general observation is that most all bikes benefit from lowering the overall gearing by 4% to 8% when mounting a sidecar.

I understand the better way to change gearing on a big twin is to change sprockets on the primary drive -- rather than switching belt pulleys. Take a look here: http://bakerdrivetrain.com/compensating-sprockets where this "sales" example is set forth: ...stock 1999 carbureted Road King. By going from a stock 25 to a BAKER 23 tooth compensating sprocket, the torque at the rear wheel will increase by 9%.... If you have access to a 1/2” impact air gun, a compensating sprocket change is a 1 hour job....

Lee Summer Grove, LA R1100GS/CSM Sidecar, Burgman/Texas Ranger, Zuma 50F, MB5, TW200, CRF250L

I have a 1999 Harley Roadking Twin cam with a champion sidecar. I changed the crankshaft sprocket from a 25 tooth to a 24 tooth which was the smallest sprocket Harley had. It is the easiest and cheapest way to go and works fine for me and I carry up to a 300 pound load in the sidecar but I would get the 23 tooth sprocket if I was to travel in the mountians.

Sidehack05 1999 H-D FLHR with Champion Legend Sidecar

sidehack05 - 7/8/2013 11:11 PM

I have a 1999 Harley Roadking Twin cam with a champion sidecar. I changed the crankshaft sprocket from a 25 tooth to a 24 tooth which was the smallest sprocket Harley had. It is the easiest and cheapest way to go and works fine for me and I carry up to a 300 pound load in the sidecar but I would get the 23 tooth sprocket if I was to travel in the mountians.