Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

First Sidecar

I finally got my beta test on the road. I am completely new to sidecars and wanted to find a way to cheaply test the waters to see if this was for me. I found a VERY cheap sidecar locally. I manufactured my own mount points from 1/4 steel plate. I spent some time fiddling/tuning the connections but have it pretty well sorted out now. based on my reading and research, I have the lean angle of the bike along with toe in set. also set the lead on the sidecar wheel ahead of the rear tire.

Before you start flaming me too badly, I know this sidecar is too small for my Nomad. it won't be my final solution, but for the price a good test machine. the picture attached was from my maiden voyage into work this morning. a friend was behind me with his video camera on.

I'm taking it VERY easy learning to drive a sidecar rig. I started with a few trips around the block as I dialed in the connections. I then expanded to a couple rides on some country back-roads, gradually and slowly increasing speeds so that now I can run about 60 MPH and feel pretty comfortable.

I'm sure there will be a bunch of questions for you guys, but here's a few. if anyone has any useful feedback or improvements, please let me know. I'm eager to learn more about things and improve. At this point I am enjoying the sidecar experience and will undoubtedly upgrade to a better sidecar in the near future. for now, it's a learning experience.

1. I get a fair amount of wobbling of the bars at slower speeds of 15 to 30 MPH. above 30 to 35, it seems to settle down and run pretty true and straight. is there something to do to adjust for the wobbles, or is it just the nature of a sidecar?