Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Explain Mounting and Parts Needed

I just bought an older california side car. The frame has two tubes that are suposed to connect to the frame of the cycle. I am missing the part the goes on the cycle. I can't figure out what the cycle part must look like. The picture at left is what I have (off of the frame). My cycle is a 82 Yamaha Maxim 750 xj.
Where the side car frame is supposed to conect to the cycle looks like a little bucket on the end. About 1 1/2 inch deep. It has a large 1 inch hole on one side and a 3/8 inch hole on the other side. It is set at a about a 45 degree angle. If you can help please let me know. I am a newbie to this side car stuff so the more info the better thank you

There was a ball and collet that went into that tapered 'bucket' area. As things were tightened the ball could no longer move.
I would suggest maybe getting in touch with Dauntless and going from there. Many have converted the stock ends on the early rigs over to heim ends in lieu of the ball and collet connections. These are readily obtainable and do the job well.
For on the cycle itself there are strap type connectors utilized. Look at the pictures at the Dauntless website.

What you have are pre 1988 mounting bits. California Sidecar Co. can bring you up to speed with replacement connectors that fit their earlier parts.

Where in Minnesota are you? There are a few of us in Wisconsin with the same sidecar. One in Menomonie and one in Rice Lake for a few weeks yet and then it will come to Menomonie as well.

The parts you are looking for we call "bosses" They come with either a 45 or 70 dgree end on them. We keep these in stock. You will want to up grade to the newer style that use 5/8 inch heim joints on the ends as the type of conectors you have are known to fail.