Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Dumb legal question

We're planning on buying a rig next year in the States in Oregon/Washington, driving it to Los Angeles, then shipping it to our home in American Samoa (a US Territory).

Washington, Oregon, and California states all recognise out of state motorcycle endorsements.

American Samoa doesn't have a motorcycle endorsement (re: http://www.asbar.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&id=582&Itemid=172 ).

Being a newbie, I have no intention of pushing any sort of speed limits in the first place, or violating any traffic laws, however....

Would anyone know how those states (WA, OR, CA) handle out-of-state licenses for states/territories which don't have motorcycle endorsements?

Suggestions?

If you can legally drive it in your home territory you can legally drive it through the states. I would carry documentation with me that shows that your territory doesn't require an endorsement to ride a motorcycle.

I've no idea about how to help with your situation, I just want to thank you for expanding my knowledge of the world. I had no idea what American Samoa was, so your post triggered a Google search that led to, amongst other sites, a fascinating Wikipedia article all about your homeland. You live in a beautiful corner of the world down there!

Hi Mike,

You're welcome! I've actually never read the article until you mentioned it, a couple of inaccuracies, but nothing dramatic.

The beach where the photo is taken from is from a friend's resort on Ofu Island (Vaoto Lodge), is completely normal, commonplace, and is not retouched.