Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Double dark tires and steering damper

This is my first attempt at it running with a car tire on the rear and a MC rear tire on the front. Am I more likely to need a steering damper?
I've survived a couple of uncontrollable head shakers on 2 wheelers and have no desire to experience another one, ever. I have a steering damper. It's not mounted because the bike has been real steady with the MC tires that were on it. However if putting a CT on it is likely to make a damper necessary I'll get it on there. The bike is a 91 wing with a champion Dayton 2+2car

I think your going to be VERY happy with the tire change as far as overall ride and smoothness
as far as head shake every bike is different, I've read that for some the easysteer removes it and I have read others that said it didn't
but if your bike handles good now I would think the change of tires will only add to the good performance
I rode mine for months with a mild shake but finally decided to install the damper

USCA # 8913

AJ1200 - 8/13/2015 5:03 AM

I think your going to be VERY happy with the tire change as far as overall ride and smoothness
as far as head shake every bike is different, I've read that for some the easysteer removes it and I have read others that said it didn't
but if your bike handles good now I would think the change of tires will only add to the good performance
I rode mine for months with a mild shake but finally decided to install the damper

That sounds good. I am hoping to get some tire life. Living in the mountains with many right handers we go through tires pretty fast.