Skip to content
Do I Have to Become...

Notifications
Clear all

Do I Have to Become a Motorcycle Mechanic?

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@mikem)
Topic starter

I am at a point where I need to do various mechanical work on my 2001 Harley Heritage sidecar rig (example: reduced effort clutch install). I am not a mechanic and no Harley dealer will touch this bike because of the sidecar. Some Harley dealers will not work on it because it's more than 10 years old. Several non Harley shops take a pass because of the sidecar.  I am wondering how USCA members deal with this. I guess we have to become motorcycle technicians and set up a shop? 

Posted : June 15, 2022 7:15 am
CCjon
(@jan-2)

Mike, yes this is a common problem with dealers in not wanting to touch sidecar rigs. Usually it is because our rigs won't fit on their lifts. Since this is a repair on just the bike and nothing to do with the sidecar, can you disconnect the tub and just take the bike in?

Or locate an independant mechanic. There are many retired HD mechanics around the country. 

Another option is ask the HD mechanics if they do work on the side, outside the shop. Many of them will. Since the shop refuses the work, there is no conflict of interest with the shop owner. Most mechanic have their own tools and can do the work.

If all else fails, check youtube for videos on how to do the install, maybe it is something you can do yourself. Have found after watching a video or two, I felt comfortable enough to do the work myself.

Posted : June 15, 2022 10:09 am
(@al-olme2)

Mike, you might want to tell us what city you're in.  Maybe someone near you knows of a good mechanic that is willing to work on sidecars.

Good Luck,

A

Posted : June 15, 2022 11:31 am
(@smitty901)

Plenty of Indy shop around. But shop smart.

Part of riding is doing the work you can.

Posted : June 15, 2022 12:50 pm
(@mikem)
Topic starter