Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Dnepr 'replacement' motor

Hello,

I live in the Cleveland, OH area which happens to have a few Dnepr dealers. There is quite a variation in paint quality and motor quality. So, I was considering just buying a kit sans motor and getting my own paint done. FYI, this would be my first bike, so I am not an expert and you may think I am crazy or ignorant.

For the motor, I was curious about what other more modern and reliable motors might work. Any one with experience using a different motor? I am guessing a beemer boxer setup e.g. r100s. Just find a good parts bike on eBay where I could get everything I need or something.

For the paint, I was considering using a place down the street that does bedliner spraying. It would make for a super durable paint (they can do a smooth finish) but not glossy. It seems like it would match the military feel and prevent rust issues and who cares about scratches. Probably black frame with olive body.

I am hoping to keep things under $5000 if I can. I should be able to get the kits sans motor for $3k or less. I am guessing about $500-$1000 on the paint. And finally, I think I could find a decent parts bike for $1500 or less.

Any feedback (even flames) welcome,
-Matt

Reloading the URALs & Dneprs with beemer boxers is quite prevalant since they are BMW clones.
Why not powder coat the beast? The epoxy coating comes in all colors and finishes and is practically bulletproof.
When I start a project such as this, I work out my known numbers to figure the cost, double that figure and add 50% to it. So far it has worked out to be the actual cost within a buck or two when the job was done.

Lonnie