Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Chair and bike selection

I'm a sidecar noob so please forgive any obvious questions or protocol transgressions. Is this even in the right forum? 🙂

I'm looking for a sidecar for some long (multi week) touring with my lady friend.
Nothing adventuresome, just pavement and a little gravel.

It should be able to (and have enough space to) haul us and a reasonable amount of stuff (clothes, camping gear, etc...) at highway speeds. I figure with toolkit and all our personal stuff it would be 100 to 150lbs.
I want something with a classic look.

For the chair:
I like the look of the Watsonian GP's but I believe they are fiberglass so then you can't bolt on any external storage?
Maybe the wider GP700 would be appropriate then but I don't like the wide look as much as the slimmer regular GP.
I've thought about a Ural (or ural like) chair. It doesn't look as classic but then it's all steel so you can bolt stuff in various places.

For the bike:
I really like the look of the Triumph Bonnevilles, I'm just not sure if they are large enough for long travel comfort or have the capacity to haul us + side car + 150lbs of stuff.
Would the Bonnie be sufficient?
Any suggestions for a different bike that keeps the classic look?

Your opinions are much appreciated.