Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Building a Harley softail rig

Page 1 of 2Next

Hi I am Chuckalac and I am a lost soul custom builder. Right now I am working on my Harley Softail/Ural rig and on the whole I have been able to solve most of my problems myself. I started with a new Ural car and my 1991 Softail and I have what I believe is a very robust combination how ever I have been stymied by a few things so its time to ask questions.

I am Darksiding my back wheel and  I decided to keep the 1 1/2" drive belt. so I machined the disc side to move the disc in 1/2" and then put a 1/2" spacer behind the pulley to move the tire away from the belt. That is looking like a good move as I believe at this point that I may just machine the caliper tail a little bit to reduce thickness and then it is just a spacer game. Incidentally I am going to black spoke mags front and back with a wide glide front  dual disc 16" front wheel and a 28deg apparent rake. Now the problem is getting the car tire to seat I can get all the tire to seat except for about 6" on both sides that will not seat. I have 120 lbs of air in it right now and have beat the hell out of it with a mallet, it just will not pop I have warmed it up etc put some 4 micron graphite at that point but it will not climb onto the rim. I have it sitting with 120 lbs and maybe temp fluctuations will make it go. If that fails I will run a drop chord to a safe place and put a little 300 psi emergency with a battery charger inflator on it and see what happens. Its gonna go or blow Now if anybody has some advice I am listening.