Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

Adjusting mechanical sidecar brakes

Hi guys. Been so long since I've been  here that my password no longer worked. I also see the site has an entirely new look.

Here's my question. I have a 2000 Ural Tourist that I bought back in 2015. I've been riding solo bikes for over 40 years, am a pretty seasoned wrench and spent a little time on the track with Lightweight Supersport roadracer. I have about 5000 miles under my belt since rebuilding the engine. So, I'm still learning, but not quite a newbie anymore.

Rotated the rear and hack wheels the other day which necessitated adjusting the drum brakes on both. I have it set up so I can lock up both rear and hack wheels with the rear brake pedal. With the front drum and the rear and hack locked up the rig stops dead straight. This is all with the hack empty. When I took it for a ride after that, I tapped the rear brake as I approached an intersection and the rig pulled a little to the right. It was something it never had done before. It got my attention, but was not something I could not quickly correct with steering. My first thought was a need to back off the hack brake a half turn or so. But on that same ride, with no traffic around me, I got hard on all three brakes without skidding the tires and she slowed quickly and went dead straight.

Did some searches here and see that others report right pull with juice brakes. My thought is for max braking force with all three, there will be some pull to the right with an empty hack and just the rear brakes. It's the price you have to pay to achieve max braking.  Am I right in this assumption?

Discussion on the Soviet Steeds site indicates that with a loaded hack, the pull should be much less or possibly non-existent. My assumption is this is due to added inertia on the right side with the loaded hack.