Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

added weight

PreviousPage 2 of 2

I am new to the sidecar world. I had Johnny Sweet build and install his Classic sidecar on my Road Star. He added a 62lb. steel plate in the frame to help me with driving the rig. I think it was good for me because i don't have to worry if i have a rider or not. No problems with right turns. The whole sidecar weighs 225 lbs.

This is the 114lb steel weight that I keep in my hack unless have a passenger. It works great to keep my very heavy rig upright in right hand turns.

Attached files

Added weight ballast should be placed as far back as possible and to the outboard side for the best leverage. This will keep the sidecar from dipping it's nose into the road during a hard stop, especially during a downhill or left turn (Rt. side mount S/C).
Soft ballast or hard ballast that is well secured works best to avoid damage to the sidecar body in case it shifts around.

Lonnie

Lonnie, if you knew the layout of the Terraplane's rear trunk access (fairly typical, actually!), and it's corrugated floorboard, you would know why that weight is where it is. I certainly can't lift 114lbs at arms length to set it in the trunk, could you? And, it is as far toward the wheel as possible except for external mounting!
I am looking into designing a quick-release plate to fit under the car at the rear, but it's not on top of my priority list. This method has worked fine for a long time now. Simple, easy to load/unload and secure (except in a crash!).
114lbs works quite well with my Voyager 1300 bike, but I keep seeing reports of big Harley's running just 40-60lbs of ballast inside the car. Does that little weight really hold the car down in right handers? I tried two of my 25lb leather shot bags, but they just didn't do the job against my 960lb bike. This 114lb steel slug works quite well.