Skip to content

USCA Sidecar Forum

For some extra information about navigating the forum you can go to Forum Tips

Please to create posts and topics.

added weight

Page 1 of 2Next

Hey Folks, I've been riding for years but I'm new to this game. Got myself a 1995 Road King with matching sidecar with only 2,500 original miles on it so basically I got a new 21 year old rig. Well it sure is a different animal! I'm very apprehensive with my right hand turns to the point where i feel like I'm going ridiculously slow. I can't be the only person with this problem.What's the best way to add weight to the car and compensate for this? Sand bags take up too much room someone said you can get metal plates. I don't have passengers very often so I need something. a little advice would be welcomed. (or a lot )
Thanks

Personally use two sand bags wrapped in plastic or a ten gallon water jug when riding without a monkey. With monkey, remove the extra ballast as not needed.

Also as you gain more experience driving hacks the ballast will be used less and less. But when first learning to handle the rig, ballast is essential. Then practice often in vacant parking lots. Schools on weekends and churches during the week make great practice sites.

Welcome to the off-centered three wheel community.

I have a military style ammunition can with lead in it. It weights in at 100#'s. The canister is the larger size about 7X&X6". I salvaged the lead from the backstops at the local gun club. They were happy to be rid of it. I have it strapped down to the floor using the seat mounting hardware and a ratchet strap. It fits tight against the seat and laying down on its sideon the floor, it's not in the way of the passenger.
Jim

2014 CB1100 Std, 2000 ST1100 with DMC Classic, 1981 CB650C

Place your ballast behind the seat and toward the sidecar wheel . With a fiberglass body you don't want hard or sharp edged ballast.
I used three bags (25#) of lead shot with my last few heavy Harley rigs.